It’s official: I’m old

Well, it happened.  I knew it would eventually, but did not expect it quite this soon.  Though, as I reflect on it, it’s not nearly as soon as it could have been.

We had parent conferences last night.  One of the parents of my students graduated with me from Los Altos.  She was even in my section in the entertainment unit.  I was her section leader.  So, there it is—I am officially old.

Thankfully, I remembered her.  Unfortunately, I often do not.  I have realized that I have been fairly narcissistic much of my life, and I have concluded it’s a symptom of narcissism not to remember people, because, essentially, you don’t really care about others beyond what they can do to meet your needs.  Remembering people requires one to be fairly “other-centered.” Lord, thank you for helping me see this and thank you for teaching me to genuinely love others more.  You understand that I walked through high school being nearly completely self-absorbed, and now, as a high school teacher, you have opened my eyes to the preciousness of teenagers.  In a way, it’s a second chance.  You are worthy to be praised!

BTW, I have found a blog that just cracks me up.  Hopefully no one will be offended.  As a white person, I’m allowed to laugh at this. =)   Some of my favorites stuff white people like:  assists and recycling!  Of course, they really should change the title to “stuff white liberals like.”  That’s why it’s so funny!

Next Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Truly when someone doesn’t know then its up to other viewers
    that they will assist, so here it takes place.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

