Film “Wanted”

I have not and will not see Wanted.  I don’t have the time, nor can I afford the emotional callousing that goes with movies like it. (I don’t believe we can fill up our minds with images and stories of brutality, and remain as sensitive to others as we would otherwise be, but it could just be me.)  But but I do read reviews.  I was shocked to read that the movie ends with the lead character eliminating his enemy with a head shot, and then actually turning to the camera and saying, “”Six weeks ago, I was ordinary and pathetic, just like you. This is me taking back control of my life. What have you done lately?”

I nearly dropped the magazine.  Our culture is sick.  One movie does not a culture make, but it seems that this movie just makes plain what many other movies say with subtlety.  There is so much to say, I almost don’t know where to start.

  • How long before someone commits a violent act in response to this challenge?  Will the movie bear any legal liability?  I have scoffed at people attempting to sue the entertainment industry in the past for actions supposedly “inspired” by a song or movie, but this movie contains a direct call to action.  Is that protected free speech?
  • Darwinist evolution is clearly the underlying worldview.  I gain significance by destroying others. Survival of the fittest and domination of others (e.g. Nietzsche’s will to power) are the only values in Darwinism.  In a world that embraces evolutionary theory, we should expect more of this.
  • The lead character feels he is taking back control of his life.  No he isn’t.  He is giving in to bondage to his own lusts, and, in the process, losing control.  When we give in to our temptations toward evil, from killing people to even over-eating, we (by “we” I mean the core of who we are, the center of our mind, emotions and will, called the “heart” by the Greeks and the scriptures) lose control and hand control over to our “flesh,” which, biblically speaking, is the part of our person where the sinful appetites reside.
  • Real significance is gained by partnering with the creator of the universe to extend his love and reign into the hearts of others to see their lives changed.  This brings hope, peace, love and all the other blessings of God to broken and hurting people.  Fame is not significance.  Anyone’s own heart will tell them that.
Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

