Train, When God Writes Your Love Story

This is so romantic.  I’m on a train from LA Union Station to San Luis Obisbo, traveling though graffiti-infested, ugly, urban sprawl.  But somehow, the train makes it all magical.  I wish my wife were with me, but I guess my laptop will have to do.  Just saw a truck on fire on some back alley.  Cool.  Except for the owner of the truck.

I’m finally sitting down to read When God Writes Your Love Story by Eric & Leslie Ludy.  I have read portions of it before and have recommended it to many, but have never read the whole thing, which strikes me as kind of a bad thing given that I am encouraging others to read it.

Leslie describes how her original plan was to have fun through her teenage years and early twenties, dating lots of guys, going to parties, football games, dances, etc.  But she would follow the two rules of Christian dating: don’t’ have sex before marriage and marry a fellow believer.  Her attitude was ‘as long as I follow these two rules, I can do what I want.’  I can certainly relate to that.  That’s what I thought too, except for the ‘dating lots of guys’ part.  Obviously it was girls I hoped to date, but my expectations were not that high.  One girl would have been great.  I actually did date a few girls, but never felt worthy of them.

But what Leslie didn’t anticipate was the heartache and compromise.

The relationship went strong for about eight months, but then he started waking up to the fact that there were other girls who were interested in him.  Not only that, these other young women were willing to have sex with him.  Still attempting to follow Christian dating rule #1, I had told Brandon that I couldn’t go “all the way” with him.  At first, he accepted this condition readily.  He even said that as a Christian himself, he agreed with my commitment to abstinence until marriage.  But there came a point where I noticed his interested gaze resting upon other girls who looked at him seductively with open invitation.  I could sense the end our relationship coming.  In desperation, I lowered by standards in the area of purity as much as I felt I possibly could, giving Brandon as many “physical favors” as I dared.  But it was no use. Soon it was over and he was giving his love and devotion to someone else, pretending he didn’t even know who I was anymore.  We had shared everything for almost a year of our lives, and now we were strangers.

This was the constant pattern of my love life.  Each fling ended with heartbreak and shattered emotions.  Each time, I felt used and defiled.  The perfect plan I had so carefully crafted for my dating career was crumbling (p. 61).

It was a process, but finally Leslie surrendered her dating life (and the rest of it) to the Lord.

He met me right where I was and taught me about Himself.  I learned how to love Him with my whole heart, to seek Him earnestly, to listen to his voice on a daily basis, and to fall in love with His word.  It was the most exciting time of my life!  It made the world of social frenzy I had come from seem incredibly empty.

I learned to lean on my relationship with Christ for my hope, joy, and security, rather than trying to find those things in a romantic relationship.  As close to Prince Charming as Eric (her husband) is, he still is only human… If I had gone into my relationship with him looking for all my emotional needs to be met, I would have been disappointed.  I wasn’t truly ready to begin a journey toward marriage with my future husband until I learned to find my hope and security in Christ alone (p. 67).

Yep, that’s the story.  Other people cannot meet our needs.  My wife cannot meet all my needs.  I cannot meet hers.  True romance is found in God’s pursuit of us.  True adventure is found in trusting God all of your life.

Leslie quotes Elizabeth Eliot’s biography of missionary Amy Carmichael (A Chance to Die):

The preoccupation of seventeen-year-old girls—their looks, their clothes, their social life—don’t change much from generation to generation.  But in every generation there seem to be a few who make other choices.  Amy Carmichael was one of the few (p. 66).

The invitation is there.  Will you take it?

And now I am traveling north along coast just south of Santa Barbara, enjoying the beautiful ocean scenery.  From graffiti and urban ugliness to this.  That’s just what the Lord wants to do in our lives if we let him.

Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

